Working and Caring

What is the modern equivalent of this?

The Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it. Genesis 2:15

What does it mean to work it and care care of it? Where the ‘it’ is the Garden of Eden. To plant seeds? To turn the soil over? To fertilize it? To weed it? To prone the trees? To pick the fruit and plant new seeds? All of these I imagine. This was the mans home – where he rested, where he lived, where he ate. And the Garden looked after him as he looked after the Garden. The first documented case of symbiosis is in Genesis 2. Wow!

What about our work today – so very far removed (at least for me) from an agrarian lifestyle? Well as a manager what is my work? Isn’t it looking after an organization? Nurturing it? Ensuring it grows and prospers? Weeding out anything that causes decay or death? Doesn’t the organization benefit from my work? Doesn’t the organization look after me with a wage? Am I also not in a symbiotic relationship?

So then as with Adam is it so not with me? God willed Adam to work and care the Garden. Doesn’t God then also will me to work and care for the organization within which I find myself?

Paul thought so:

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. Colossians 3:23-24.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

